Project Research and Planning Week Four

Yesterday I had an appointment with Barbara an academic librarian. I can say that this meeting was beneficial for me because I finally decided on my subject matter for the research. I chose my first idea about Pop Art influence, however there are now some modifications. I am going to research the oeuvre of one of the representatives of Pop Art to make my report more specific. This representative is going to be Andy Warhol. I have chosen him for several reasons. First of all, he is a key figure in Pop Art movement. Next, his artworks are very popular and easily recognisable today. I believe he made a revolution in art and had a big influence on next generations. Finally, I think that Warhol is an interesting figure by himself. His world vision, lifestyle and philosophy were unique, so that’s why he inspired lots of people with his famous paintings. According to this, I am planning to research how exactly did Andy Warhol influence today’s mass culture and generation. Based on these thoughts,  I need to formulate my research question, aim and objectives. Research question is the central question around which the research is built. It identifies the subject to be studied and it should be clear, focused and narrow. Generally speaking, it describes what are you doing and what is your research about.  The title of the research can reflect the research question. Here is my research question:

Title: How did Andy Warhol’s Pop Art paintings influence today’s generation?

Next step is to consider the aim of my research. In scientific writing aim is the overall purpose of the study. It is a statement of a desired outcomes and general intentions of the research. In other words, it describes the impact that is to be gained from the research. The aim is a general statement, that broadly points out what you hope to accomplish and focuses on long-term intended outcomes.

Aim:  To determine the influence of Andy Warhol’s paintings on today’s consumer
generation

While the aim is what you want to achieve,  the objectives describe how you are going to achieve that aim. Objectives lay out how you plan to accomplish your aims. While aims are broad in nature, objectives are focused and practical.  They include a list of practical steps and tasks you’re going to take to meet your aim. Each objective must have a concrete method set out. 

Objectives:

1. To explore the key reasons that influenced Andy Warhol to produce his mos iconic Pop Art works such as Campbell’s Soup Cans and Turquoise Marilyn?

2. To define why Andy Warhol’s Pop Art paintings are still popular and recognisable today

3. To consider Andy Warhol’s entire creative output and his contribution to the modern art

4. To evaluate how Andy Warhol’s oeuvre influence our perception and thinking about mass culture

All in all, here you can see my title proposal pitch for the research paper. I hope that the formulated aim and objectives will work for me well. To make sure in its efficiency and effectiveness I need to get a feedback from my tutor. After that I will continue to work on my research paper.


Leave a comment